foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

My mother was right.

The other day I spotted a Chobani lemon Greek yogurt at the food store. I thought it looked really yummy, so I bought one to try.

I ate that yogurt today with blueberries mixed in and really liked it.

This is kind of scary… and here’s why.

I never liked lemon flavoring. I like actual lemons, but not lemon flavored cakes, cookies, pies, yogurts, candy, and whatever else.

My mom and grandma love those kinds of lemon foods. When I used to say that I couldn’t stand lemon, my mother would tell me that my taste buds will change as I get older and I’ll probably develop a taste for it one day.

She was right.

This isn’t the first food I used to not care for but like these days. I never was a fan of pumpkin until recently, and now I love it.

My grandma buys this wheat pie from a place in my hometown. I have no idea why/how, but she thinks it’s amazing. She likes it so much that she’ll buy it as a dessert for a family get together, and when we take the dessert spread out, this pie is already half eaten from her munching on it beforehand.

What’s next? I’m a little freaked out that next time I’m back on the East coast I’m going to try this pie and think it’s the best thing I’ve ever tasted. Yikes!

The 5 Healthiest Cheeses

I was just reading an article about the healthiest cheeses to eat. As you might have noticed from my recipes, I love cheese. But I also believe in moderation and limit my cheese intake since it’s high in fat and calories. On the flip side, I like to include it in my recipes to amp up my protein, plus I think cheese can give a dish so much flavor. According to the article, here are the best options out there:

  • Feta
  • String cheese
  • Parmesan
  • Swiss
  • Cottage cheese

Yum, I love all of those except for Swiss. Who knows though, maybe sometime in the future I’ll suddenly enjoy a hunk of Swiss. 😉

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “My mother was right.

  1. Pingback: Today, I celebrate. « foodie meets fitness

Leave a comment