foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

What I ate this Wednesday

Recently I was talking to someone who thought it’d be interesting for me to blog about what I eat throughout the day. Her take on it was that she knows there are so many kinds of recipes out there, but what she finds most intimidating about a different diet is wondering what would be eaten from meal to meal.

She’s got a point. The first question I get when people find out I’m a vegetarian is, “So just what do you eat?”

I think that people find it hard to picture what my meals typically look like because meat is such a big part of most Americans’ diets, so it’s what we’re used to often seeing. While I don’t have a desire to post everything I eat everyday, I think I’m going to post all of my eats for the day on a weekly basis. After all, if it gives someone a better idea of what being a vegetarian could be like, provides a reader with a healthy meal idea, or even inspires someone to eat meat-free for just one day a week, I’d be happy with that!

Today’s Eats

Breakfast: a plain Chobani yogurt with 2 TSP of honey and a cup of fresh cantaloupe

Lunch: chocolate peanut butter protein shake (still my favorite smoothie after having it about 227 times!)

Dinner:

  • Portobello mushroom sandwich – mushroom topped with sliced tomato, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and shredded cheese, baked in the oven for about 20 minutes, with whole wheat toast

  • A kiwi

Snack: Trader Joe’s Stilton cheese with apricots, multigrain crackers, and a chopped apple with sprinkled cinnamon

With the exception of my smoothie combos and eating yogurt a lot, I’m not a person who eats the same thing day in and day out. I like to switch it up to keep things interesting!

In a Funk

Today I was just feeling blah and couldn’t seem to snap into high gear. After an early morning conference call, I spent the rest of my morning attempting to get work done and stay focused, but I found myself zoning out, thinking about taking a nap and getting a massage for my super sore muscles. All of a sudden, I had a moment where I thought I need to pull myself out of this! and decided to go for a lunchtime hike with Harley. It looked like it could rain outside, but I risked being caught in a downpour to get some fresh air, exercise, endorphins and newfound energy.

Within minutes of starting our hike, I already felt better. We all have things that uplift our spirits, and for me that includes being outdoors, exercising, and seeing my spastic happy dog in her element, running around outside and trying to eat any & everything we pass (Yes, I might have caught her putting a piece of dried poop in her mouth today! Nastiness.) My heart was pumping, the cool breeze felt great, and it was certainly time well spent. I still might not have had crazy high energy levels the rest of the day, but hiking definitely helped me not feel quite so blah and more like my usual self.

I also like to read inspirational quotes I have stuck around my place to give me some oomph when I need it. I’ll leave you with my favorite new quote that I keep reading in the morning to start my day off in a motivated mindset:

Be amazing. 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “What I ate this Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Sweet & Sour Pineapple and Red Bell Pepper « foodie meets fitness

Leave a comment