foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Either You Do it, or You Don’t.

Ever have one of those evenings where you’re just not feeling dinner? No “dinner” food sounded appealing to me tonight, and I wanted something cold, so I made a new yummy smoothie combo. Post-workout, this smoothie is great because it packs a good amount of protein, 2 servings of fruit, and fulfills the following amounts of daily vitamin recommendations: 15% Vitamin A, 115% of Vitamin C, 72% Calcium, and 13% iron. Not too shabby!

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

  • 1 6-oz Chobani strawberry banana yogurt
  • 1/2 frozen or fresh banana
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup (unsweetened) almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (Designer Whey)

Stats: 350 calories, 8 g fat, 26 g protein, 49 g carbs

[Side note: my new favorite Chobani yogurt is definitely their strawberry banana flavor. It’s so yummy!]

As I was walking to the gym earlier, my thought process went something along the lines of, I don’t really feel like working out right now, I have to finish up that project I’m working on, and Why is my stupid calf still sore? Hmm I don’t even know what workout to do…  

And then these quotes popped into my head:

With that, I snapped out of it and decided exactly what my gym time would consist of. Then I put my iPod gym playlist on, my headphones in, and jumped into my warmup without hesitation.

And you know what? I’m sure as hell glad I did.

I think that’s all we need sometimes – a little bit of motivation to get us going and to silence our internal whining, and then we’re on fire.

What are the inspirational sayings that drive you? I’d love to hear them!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Either You Do it, or You Don’t.

  1. recipeforabeautifullife on said:

    Smoothie looks delicious. When my hubby was deployed I ate smoothies for dinner all the time!

Leave a comment