foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “August 7, 2012”

Broccoli Cheddar Stuffed Potato

Today was one of those days when I couldn’t figure out what I’m in the mood to eat. This afternoon I decided I’d make stuffed portobello mushrooms for dinner, only to find myself feeling totally icky about the idea of eating mushrooms when it was time to prep them.

Looking to be inspired by something else, I peered around my kitchen and laid my eyes on a couple of potatoes. Thus, a veggie stuffed potato dinner was born:

This recipe spices up a plain potato by adding some color to it with broccoli, red bell pepper and cheddar cheese. It can be the star of your meal, or eaten as a side dish.

Broccoli Cheddar Stuffed Potato

Serves 2 

What you need:

  • 2 large russet potatoes
  • 1/2 c reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 c light sour cream
  • 1 c broccoli, chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 onion, minced
  • 2-4 TBSP of white cooking wine for sautéing
  • Sprinkle of paprika
  • 1/4 TSP each salt + pepper

Preheat your oven to 400. Poke holes in the potatoes, and bake on your oven rack for an hour.

Remove potatoes from oven. Slice lengthwise and let them cool.

Meanwhile, heat cooking wine in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions and cook for a few minutes until lightly browned.

Add bell pepper and broccoli, and cook for about 5 minutes, or until veggies are softened.

Scoop out the flesh of the potatoes, leaving about 1/2 inch of potato on the skins. Place in a bowl and mash.

Add veggie mixture, sour cream, cheddar cheese, paprika, salt, and pepper to the potatoes. Mix well.

Place stuffed potatoes on a baking sheet. I baked mine on a pizza pan with holes in the bottom to make the skins crispier.

Bake until lightly browned, about 15 minutes.

Nutrition stats: 440 calories, 9 g fat, 19 g protein, 74 g carbs

This meal was exactly what I wound up being in the mood to eat. Yum!

Post Navigation