foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “August 20, 2012”

Banana Peanut Butter Pancakes

First thing this morning, Harley and I ventured out for a long walk around our neighborhood trail. As my stomach growled, I started to think about breakfast. Most days, I eat Greek yogurt with fruit, cereal with protein powder and fruit, or a smoothie for breakfast. But every couple of weeks, I get a craving for pancakes. Today was one of those days, and as we got some exercise in, I concocted a breakfast recipe in my head.

Despite my love for pancakes, you won’t find pancake mix in my kitchen cabinets. I’ve become accustomed to mixing a bunch of ingredients together to make up my own recipe when I have pancake yen. Here is today’s creation:

These light and fluffy banana pancakes have a subtle hint of peanut butter, and are the perfect portion to serve breakfast for one. I used butterscotch flavored peanut butter, and think they’d also be awesome with chocolate peanut butter (and of course, plain old peanut butter never fails!).

Banana PB Pancakes

  • 1/4 c whole wheat all purpose flour
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 packet of Stevia sweetener
  • 1/2 TBSP baking powder
  • 1/4 TSP salt
  • 5 TBSP unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 1 TBSP peanut butter

Heat up your skillet to medium high heat.

Mix the flour, banana, sweetener, baking powder, salt, almond milk, and oil in a bowl. Warm the peanut butter in the microwave, then add it to the pancake batter. Combine everything well.

Form 3 pancakes and cook until lightly browned on both sides.

Nutrition stats: 310 calories, 14 g fat, 7 g protein, 45 g carbs

I’m off to the gym to for a workout!

Post Navigation