foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “August 23, 2012”

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

The cleanup from my dinner last night included washing only a blender and a cup. And there may or may not have been ice cream involved…

You see, I was in a hurry to finish up work for the day and get ready to volunteer at the Humane Society to play with some lovable dogs for a few hours. My Marine was on duty, which meant that he was working a 24-hour shift and wouldn’t be home for the night. When he’s not around, my dinners can pretty easily turn into a salad or smoothie meal. Plus, in the summer heat, I was finding myself to be craving what I consider a typical fall or wintertime flavor – pumpkin. These combined factors sealed my smoothie dinner fate, and thus, a yummy pumpkin pie smoothie was born:

Here are a few good reasons to eat pumpkin besides that once a year slice of pie around the holidays: Pumpkin is high in a number of vitamins and minerals, including vitamin A, B, K, and potassium, and contains high amounts of antioxidants and fiber. In this smoothie, I incorporated ingredients typical in pumpkin pie, such as pumpkin spice and vanilla extract. I also added chia seeds to amp up the smoothie from a nutritional standpoint, as chia seeds are a rich source of omega-3 oil, calcium, iron, potassium, fiber and more.

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

What you need:

  • 1/2 c pure pumpkin
  • 1 c almond milk
  • 1 TSP vanilla extract
  • 1 TBSP graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 TBSP chia seeds
  • 1/2 c light vanilla bean ice cream
  • 1/2 TBSP light brown sugar
  • 1/4 TSP pumpkin pie spice
  • Cinnamon, to taste
  • Ice

In a blender, combine the pumpkin, almond milk, vanilla extract, ice cream, chia seeds, sugar, pumpkin pie spice and ice. Blend until well combined. Pour into a glass, then add the graham cracker crumbs and sprinkle cinnamon on top. Mix with a spoon or straw and enjoy!

Nutrition stats: 330 calories, 11 g fat, 9 g protein, 51 g carbs (and fulfills 312% Vitamin A, 44% Calcium, and 300% of my Vitamin C needs!)

And here’s a random final thought for the night…

Who can argue with that statement? 😉

Post Navigation