foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Experimenting with Tofu

I’ve been a vegetarian for 15 years. Because of this, you may think that perhaps I’m an expert in typical vegetarian staples, such as tofu. This is definitely not the case, and up until recently, I had never cooked with tofu before. I’ve gotten a bit familiar with it lately and have been playing around and making things like tofu scramble wraps. Today, I wanted to try to make crispy tofu and put together grilled veggie and tofu skewers.

First, I heated up my little indoor gril to 350. I then cut up a red bell pepper, medium zucchini, and 6 oz of extra firm tofu into thick chunks. Next I divided the pieces among 6 skewers:

In a bowl, I mixed together 1/4 c of BBQ sauce and 1/4 TSP of steak seasoning. With a brush, I coated both sides of the veggies and tofu slices with the BBQ sauce. I threw all of the skewers on the grill.

I let them grill until brown and crispy, then paired 3 of the tofu + veggie skewers with brown rice and corn on the cob.

The meal was super healthy and kept me full through my evening volunteering at the Humane Society, but I was hoping to be able to make the tofu more crispy. I think I need to do some research on how to prepare crispy tofu — definitely more to come on this once I’ve mastered it. If anyone out there has suggestions, please do share!

I’m off to relax, good night!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment