foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Portobello Goat Cheese Burgers

Before I get to my delicious dinner creation tonight, here’s a recap of my eats today. As I discussed in yesterday’s post about eating ample amounts of goodness to help me get over this dreaded cold, I ate a lot of fruits and veggies today:

Breakfast this morning was a chopped Granny Smith apple sprinkled with cinnamon, topped with a Stonyfield Greek caramel yogurt + 1/2 serving of cashew pieces:

I had a lunch date with a girlfriend I haven’t seen in awhile. We had a fun time catching up at PF Chang’s, where I munched on a mixed greens salad + steamed vegetable dumplings:

After lunch, I headed to the Marine Corps base to watch a ceremony that my hubby was in. Being that it was 90 degrees outside today (which feels pretty damn hot when you’ve been spoiled living in San Diego!), I came home craving a cold snack, so I had a Yasso strawberry frozen Greek yogurt bar…

… and then I felt like I needed some more protein, so I had a serving of cottage cheese along with a nectarine:

For dinner tonight, I wanted to use the portobello mushrooms I’ve had sitting in my fridge. I came up with a burger creation that is definitely worth sharing with you!

Portobello Goat Cheese Burgers

Serves 2 

Ingredients:

  • 2 large raw portobello mushroom caps
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 2 TBSP balsamic vinegar
  • 2 oz creamy goat cheese
  • 2 handfuls of raw spinach
  • 2 whole wheat burger buns (Nature’s Own)
  • 1 vine ripe tomato, cut into thick slices
  • 2 TBSP white cooking wine
  • 1/4 TSP garlic powder
  • 1/4 TSP dried basil leaves
  • Pinch of sea salt & pepper

Heat your grill to 350. Warm cooking wine in a skillet over medium-low heat. Add spinach and cook just until wilted, then set aside.

In a bowl, whisk together olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic powder, basil, salt and pepper. Cut the stems off the mushrooms, then brush the balsamic mix on both sides of each one.

Place portobellos on the grill stem side down, and cook for about 8 minutes, or until mushrooms are tender.

Flip mushrooms over, and brush them again with the balsamic mixture. Cook 5 minutes more.

Spread 1 oz of goat cheese on each portobello, then top each with tomato slices and wilted spinach. Let them cook for 2-3 minutes longer, then remove from heat. Place on burger buns and enjoy!

Nutrition stats per burger: 300 calories, 15 g fat, 13 g protein, 31 g carbs

Last on my list of eats for the day, my snack tonight was a treat. My parents sent Adam and me a gift…

Chocolate covered fruit from Edible Arrangements! Tonight I ate a chocolate covered apple, banana and strawberry:

And on that delicious note, I’m off to enjoy the rest of my Friday night. Hope your weekend is off to a good start!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Portobello Goat Cheese Burgers

  1. That burger looks and sounds amazing! I definitely must try!

Leave a comment