foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “June 1, 2012”

WOD: A Triceps & Chest Circuit Routine

Happy June and Friday!

According to my calendar, today is Go Barefoot Day. Apparently it’s also National Doughnut Day. I’m celebrating the former by walking around barefoot, though I pretty much always do that…

I’m excited that it’s June 1st for a couple of reasons:

The start of June signifies the real downhill slope of my marine’s deployment, as he supposedly will be coming home in July (the key word here being supposedly…Anyone involved in the military knows that if there’s one thing for certain, it’s that plans are constantly changing, but we’ll pretend that it’s totally happening according to schedule unless we’re told otherwise 😉 ). The thought of him being home makes me ridiculously happy.

The other awesome thing about June beginning is that I’ll be heading back east in a little over a week to see my family and friends in Jersey. I haven’t seen everyone since December and I am so excited to spend time with my loved ones. I have lots of fun plans going on while I’m there, and will be staying at my parents’ for almost 2 weeks. WOOHOO!

Today’s Workout

I find it amusing that I instinctively typed “WOD” (Workout of the Day) in my title. This means that CrossFit lingo is finding its way into my vocabulary even though I don’t even do CrossFit!  That is how mainstream it has become, or perhaps just how much I hang out with CrossFit lovers..

Today at the gym I did one of my beloved circuit sessions. The strength training exercises focused on working my triceps and chest, though I also worked my legs quite a bit. I love combining weight training moves with movement to get my heart rate up and get the most bang for my buck. What you need to know:

  • The workout consists of 5 rounds, each with strength training, ab moves and cardio.
  • I used 12 pound weights. Adjust your hand weights based on your strength level.
  • When exercises are performed that involve doing one arm/leg at a time, 1 rep = doing one on each side of the body.
  • In between each round, do 5 minutes of whatever cardio you choose (I biked). Take minimal rests.

If you aren’t familiar with some of the exercises mentioned, here are descriptions I found around the web:

And don’t forget to eat something healthy post-workout to refuel! Today I ate a blueberry banana bowl:

  • 3/4 c frozen bluberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (Designer Whey)
  • 1/4-1/2 c unsweetened almond milk

I also ate some of these yummies:

I’m off to get ready for a get-together with some girlfriends for dinner. Hope your weekend is off to a great start!

Post Navigation