foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “June 26, 2012”

Curried Chickpea Cakes

“True enjoyment comes from activity of the mind and exercise of the body; the two are united.” – Alexander von Humboldt

While I was visiting my family, workout DVDs were my friend — Jillian Michaels’ DVDs to be exact. One day I was able to be a guest at my mom’s gym and take a class with her, but besides that, I did a good amount of jumping around in my parents’ living room the past couple of weeks (and looked really cool doing it, might I add).

My gym hiatus made me excited to get back into it once I got back to San Diego. Yesterday I really wanted to get to the gym, but a hectic day got in the way. I wound up hiking with Harley right before the sun set instead, so today was my first day back at the gym. I did a circuit workout that had me dripping sweat for 90 glorious minutes. I ❤ endorphins from a great workout!

Dinner

This evening I made a recipe from the Skinny Bitch cookbook that I’ve had a few times before, curried chickpea cakes. I adjusted a few ingredient proportions from the original recipe, and thoroughly enjoyed this dinner:

Curried Chickpea Cakes

Makes 10 

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 green onion stalk, both white & green parts, sliced
  • 1/3 c light coconut milk
  • 2 TSP sugar
  • 1/2 c breadcrumbs
  • 1 TSP curry powder
  • 1/2 TSP ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 TSP ground cumin
  • 2/3 c brown rice, cooked
  • 1/2 TSP salt
  • 2-4 TBSP of sesame oil *In order to keep the calorie count down, I used 2 TBSP of oil instead of the recommended 1/4 c. Nutrition content is based on my oil usage.

In a large food processor, combine the chickpeas and green onions and pulse until combined.

Transfer to a large mixing bowl. Add the coconut milk, sugar, breadcrumbs, curry powder, nutmeg and cumin. Stir together with a wooden spoon until well combined, then add in rice and salt. Mold into 10 patties.

Heat half the oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add 5 of the patties, and saute until they’re golden brown on the bottom. Flip and repeat on the other side. Repeat this process with the remaining 5 patties.

Transfer to a paper-towel-lined plate to drain off any excess oil.

Nutrition stats per cake: 110 calories, 4 g fat, 3 g protein, 15 g carbs

Dress the chickpea cakes up however you like. I ate mine over a bed of raw spinach with sliced avocado and tomato, drizzled with a touch of blackberry balsamic vinegar and sprinkled with sesame seeds:

It was a delicious and nutritious meal! 

Post Navigation