foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “June 8, 2012”

Stacked Apple, Goat Cheese & Pecan Salad

Earlier I felt like creating a healthy meal that looked fun & fancy, and this is what I came up with – isn’t it pretty?!

Stacked Apple, Goat Cheese & Pecan Salad

What you need:

  • 1 apple
  • 1 oz goat cheese
  • 2 TBSP chopped pecans, toasted
  • 6 pitted dates, sliced
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1/2 TBSP honey
  • 1/2 TBSP apple cider vinegar
  • 1 TSP lemon juice
  • sea salt

Thinly slice the apple and celery stalk.

Begin to form layers – first placing the apple, then topping it with some goat cheese, pecans, dates, and celery slices.

Do this until you start to feel like you’re playing Jenga, the salad edition (ha!),  then decorate the sides of the apple tower with some of each ingredient.

Whisk the vinegar, honey, lemon juice, and sea salt together. Pour the dressing evenly over the salad.

Nutrition stats: 410 calories, 17 g fat, 8 g protein, 63 g carbs

Hope your weekend is off to a good start! I have 2 things I plan to do tonight:

1.) Resting my knees and ankles. On a hike with Harley before I totally lost my footing, fell on my butt, and twisted my legs in weird directions. They’re feeling a little achy at the moment, and probably just need a bit of R&R. The best part is that Harley just looked at me like I was crazy – so much for my dog to the rescue! I think the heat was getting to her, and she kept trying to stop and lay down during our trip down the mountain:

2.) Watching a movie. Though I’m not sure what I’m going to watch,  I do know one thing.. it’s NOT going to be a sad one. I keep unknowingly watching all these depressing flicks (last weekend it was The Descendants), and then afterwards think, Yikes, why didn’t I watch a romantic comedy?? No Debbie downers tonight! 😉

Post Navigation