foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “June 13, 2012”

Rich Chocolate Kahlua Cake

Greetings from the East Coast!

I’ve been enjoying spending time with my family since I arrived in Jersey. Tonight my best friends and some of the ladies in my family are coming over for a jewelry party at my parents’ house. For the occasion, I made a few fun things to eat, including this chocolate Kahlua cake.

Let me just warn you, when I say that this blog follows my mostly healthy eats…. this cake is not one of the healthy ones! But it’s worth the splurge, and may be one of the only recipes that I don’t think I’d screw around with to make healthier. I only eat it once every year or 2 and it is just so moist and delicious!

The recipe comes from our former neighbor, Priscilla Walsh. My mom started making this cake after it was published in a local newspaper for winning a recipe contest. After we dug it up out of her recipe drawer last night, I saw that the newspaper article was from 1995, so we’ve been making this dessert for a lot of years now!

 Rich Chocolate Kahlua Cake

Makes 12-16 servings

 Ingredients:

  • 1 small box of vanilla pudding 
  • 1 package of chocolate cake mix
  • 6 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 c vegetable oil
  • 1/2 c Kahlua
  • 1 pint sour cream
  • Confectionary sugar

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large bowl, mix all ingredients together by hand.

Grease a bundt or 9 x 13 pan.

Pour mix into pan and spread evenly. Bake for 45 minutes.

Allow to slightly cool, then use a butter knife to loosen the cake from the pan. Flip the pan over, placing the cake on a drying rack. Let cool a bit longer, then use a sifter to sprinkle powdered sugar on top of cake.

Off to get ready for the party!

Post Navigation