foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “June 7, 2012”

Dog Beach Date + A New Biking PR

Love this quote.

Speaking of moving, today I hit a new biking PR. Let’s get one thing straight, I’m no avid cyclist. I think mountain biking is a lot of fun, but most of the cycling I do is on a stationary bike at my gym to get the cardio portion of my workout in. I’ve mentioned in previous posts that recently we got new, more high tech bikes, and I’m having fun setting distance goals when I do longer rides.

I began alternating the resistance every other mile, keeping my heart rate between 60-65% for a mile, then upping the level to bike at 70-80% of my max heart rate for a mile. At first, I just wanted to get to 15 miles. Then it became 20. Next I hit 25. And today, I went past that to 26.2. I got to 26, and then thought, hmm why not go an extra .2 in honor of the marathon I have no desire to ever run? đŸ˜‰

This made me curious as to how far a marathon is for biking. Googling it gave me a lot of different answers. All I know is that typical road races can be 100’s of miles long. If I ever decide to train for a long bike race like that, one thing is for sure… I definitely will be needing butt pads (as mine starts hurting after about mile 8!)!

I was proud of myself for getting to 26.2 in 80 minutes today because I wanted to quit most of the time and kept telling myself to just go one more mile, to just keep moving. The fact that I wasn’t really feeling it but wound up setting a new PR reassures me that we are capable of pushing ourselves to do more and keep going if we set our minds to it. Next bike session, I just might do 30 miles!

Dog Beach 

Tonight I took Harley to the dog beach for some playtime. I usually take her for a long walk sometime during the day whenever I can fit it in. But today I was chugging along with work and didn’t wind up walking her much at all, so I figured it’d be good to get to the beach and wear her out a bit.

Harley is NOT a fan of the water. It’s really funny to watch her run around when it’s low tide, because she’ll chase other pups around everywhere until they get near waves or puddles, at which point she’ll stop dead in her tracks.

Case in point:

She’s quite a character.

I’ll leave you with a pic of tonight’s sunset:

Post Navigation