foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “June 2, 2012”

Blueberry Lemonade Ice Pops

Hope you’re having a great weekend!

I had a fun Friday night in La Jolla getting dinner and drinks with a couple of girlfriends whose men are deployed with mine. It’s always nice to chat with women who know exactly what you’re going through as a military spouse.

My Saturday has consisted of running a bunch of errands, reading poolside..

…going for a long walk with Harley, then sweating like a beast during my kick ass workout…

My workout calorie burn

…and enjoying some healthy eats:

Plain Chobani greek yogurt, TJ’s pumpkin butter, sprinkled cinnamon, and almonds –

A spicy black bean burger with mashed avocado + baked sweet potato with butter, cinnamon, and chopped pecans –

And a refreshing blueberry lemonade ice pop I made today –

Blueberry Lemonade Ice Pops 

Makes 4

  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/2 c blueberries, frozen or fresh
  • 1 1/4 c water
  • 1 lemon

In a small saucepan, bring the sugar and 1/4 c of the water to a boil. Stir often until the sugar dissolves.

Remove from heat, then add the rest of the water in. Juice the lemon into the mix, and stir.

Pour evenly into 4 ice pop molds, leaving a bit of room at the top.

Put some blueberries into each mold, then place the tops onto the ice pops.

Stick in the freezer for at least 6 hours before eating.

Stats per pop: 60 calories, 0 g fat, 0 g protein, 16 g carbs

I’m off to relax and watch a movie, good night!

Post Navigation