foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “June 25, 2012”

My New Favorite Summertime Salad

Hello from the West coast! I got back to San Diego last night after having a fantastic stay in Jersey. My Monday has been nonstop, and started off with me picking up my very excited puppy from the pet resort. Okay, I might have been very excited too… I missed my Harley girl the past few weeks!

A few shots from last weekend at my family’s shore house:

the whole family

with my younger siblings

I’m happy I got to spend a good amount of time with my cutie pie nephew during my trip.

The last time I saw him he was just a little munchkin! I can’t even deal with his sun outfit:

I had an amazing time with my family and friends, and I think I miss them already. But let’s face it, the past 2 weeks of my life have included too much food and booze, and not enough working out and sleep. It’s not like I didn’t eat salads or exercise at all, but I’ve been taking in too many calories and not being as active as I like to be. That’s how vacations usually go, but I’m looking forward to getting back to my healthier lifestyle. I couldn’t wait to stock my fridge today with tons of produce to get back into the swing of eating as nutritiously as possible (and perhaps NOT having drinks every night 😉 ). I was craving a monster salad tonight, so I threw together this combo. It totally hit the spot, and I think I’ll be making it again very soon!

Summertime Salad

What you need:

  • 2 c chopped romaine, or other type of lettuce
  • 1/2 c fresh or frozen corn kernels
  • 1 oz sliced avocado
  • 1/2 c sliced cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 c canned black beans, drained and rinsed (I heated mine before adding to the salad.)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 slice of red onion, finely chopped
  • A handful of alfalfa sprouts
  • 1/4 c shredded Mexican cheese
  • 2 TBSP light ranch dressing
  • Mixed up salt

Nutrition stats: 400 calories, 15 g fat, 21 g protein, 51 g carbs

Well, I’m off to face plant into my bed. Good night!

Post Navigation