foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 7, 2012”

Balsamic Portobello & Goat Cheese Panini

I think I’ve found a new favorite way to eat portobello mushrooms:

As soon as I whipped up this panini, before I even tasted it, I knew I’d love it. I definitely will be making this deliciousness again very soon!

Balsamic Portobello & Goat Cheese Panini

Serves 2 

Ingredients:

  • 2 panini rolls (Trader Joe’s)
  • 2 large portobello mushroom caps
  • 2 vine ripe tomatoes, sliced
  • 2 oz creamy goat cheese
  • 1/2 c balsamic vinegar
  • 1 TBSP light brown sugar
  • 1/2 TBSP soy sauce
  • 1/4 onion
  • 1 TSP olive oil
  • Sea salt

In a large saucepan, bring the balsamic vinegar, light brown sugar, and soy sauce to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for about 10 minutes until it begins to become thick and syrupy.

Meanwhile, cut the portobello mushrooms and onions into thin slices. Once the balsamic mixture thickens a bit, add the veggies to the saucepan. Simmer the mix over medium-low heat for about 10 minutes.

Heat your grill up. Slice the panini rolls in half, then spread 1/2 of the goat cheese onto each roll. Layer the tomatoes over the goat cheese, and sprinkle sea salt on top.

Once the mushroom mixture is done cooking, spoon evenly onto each panini. Brush each top and bottom of the panini bread with olive oil, then cook on the grill until browned.

Nutrition stats per panini: 350 calories, 10 g fat, 12 g protein, 63 g carbs

Post Navigation