foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 11, 2012”

Reuniting with My Marine

Well, it’s official… I’ve completed my second deployment as a USMC wife!!

I resisted the urge to count down the days until my hubby’s arrival on my blog for obvious safety reasons, but he’s back home as of this morning!

In the past few months, Adam and I have talked about whether or not Harley would remember him when he got home. Well, as I predicted, she did not forget about her daddy, and gave him quite the warm welcoming (to say the very least) when he walked through the door. I have the video footage to prove it! She was going nuts, trying to jump all over him and dragging out her blankets and toys. I don’t really think she knew what to do with herself! Here are a few funny photos of them reuniting:

The deployments we’ve endured have been such big learning experiences for me. During the not so great days, I’ve tried to remind myself that everything is temporary, that it’ll get better. This thinking has really helped me to push through things as best as I can to get to the happier days. My life as a military wife has taught me to never take things for granted and to truly appreciate my relationships — not only with my hubby, but also with my family, friends, and most importantly, myself. Because the good times don’t last forever, so you better treasure them! But neither do the not so great times, so you have to do all you can to get through them as happily and gracefully as possible. 

Last night, to help tame my excitement and anxiousness, I whipped up a batch of chocolate peanut  butter cups:

I have a feeling the rest of my night might include one (or two) of these! Also on the agenda: making a nice welcome home dinner for Adam, getting some of Harley’s crazy amounts of energy out, maybe having a glass or two of wine, and just enjoying being able to hang out with my best friend again!!

Post Navigation