foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 18, 2012”

A Simple & Healthy Summer Salad

Volunteering at the SD Humane Society tonight included a lot of puppy playtime! Here are a few of my favorites that I met:

Two adorable 4 month old Pitbulls

A very overweight Bulldog named Peaches

The reason why there were so many puppies there is because earlier this year, the SD Humane Society, along with the SD Dept. of Animal Services and SDPD, raided three pet stores that were treating their animals inhumanely. They confiscated over 100 animals, many of which were puppies. This past weekend, these animals became adoptable, hence why it’s puppy galore there right now! If you live in the SD area and are interested in getting a young dog, I suggest going to check them out ASAP!

Today’s Eats

Moving onto food, here is a recap of my eats today…

My breakfast included Chobani vanilla Greek yogurt with Kashi Go Lean Cinnamon Crumble cereal on top:

Lunch was a sandwich that included cherry tomatoes, lettuce, sprouts, and provolone cheese on whole wheat bread, a (very overripe) kiwi, and a few cashews:

I’ve talked before about my taste buds changing over time, and a new example of this is cashews. I never liked mixed nuts before a few years ago, when I became a fan of almonds. I just tried cashews for the first time in awhile after buying them for a recipe, and holy yum! I now love em.

My dinner revolved around this summery avocado & corn salad:

Super Simple & Healthy Summer Salad

Serves 2 as a side dish 

  • 1 ear of corn, husked
  • 1 c black beans
  • 1 heirloom tomato, sliced
  • 2 oz avocado, sliced (about 1/2 of one)
  • 1 TSP lime juice
  • Sea salt & pepper

Combine corn, beans, tomato, and avocado in a bowl. Add lime juice, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and toss to combine. Season once more before serving.

Per serving: 215 calories, 7 g fat, 9 g protein, 36 g carbs

I paired my salad with an easy quesadilla that included 1 serving of low-fat shredded Mexican cheese with a whole grain wrap.

And lastly, my nighttime snack was an apple with a smidgen of peanut butter + a Trader Joe’s chocolate chip brownie & oats bar:

And that’s all for my food intake today… I’m off to relax with my little family before crashing for the night!

Post Navigation