foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 8, 2012”

A Healthy Sweet Treat: Baked Honeyed Apricots

Well, another weekend is coming to an end. My guests headed back to the East coast earlier today, and I was just glued to my TV watching HBO’s True Blood, so it’s a pretty typical Sunday night for me just relaxing with Harley!

Before planting myself on my couch, I perused my kitchen for a snack. I was in the mood for something sweet but light, and found 3 almost overripe apricots sitting in the back of my fridge. I love apricots because they’re these little, sweet fruits that you can eat in a few bites, yet they add some flavor to yogurt, cottage cheese, or salads, or are yummy to eat on their own as mini snacks. Not wanting my apricots to go to waste, I turned on my oven and pulled out just a few ingredients to bake a guiltless nighttime snack…

Baked Honeyed Apricots

  • 3 apricots
  • 1/2 TBSP honey
  • 1/2 TBSP slivered almonds
  • Cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400.

Spray a small baking dish with cooking spray. Slice apricots in half length-wise, then arrange on the dish.

Drizzle with honey, place almonds on the apricots, then sprinkle lightly with cinnamon.

Bake until almonds start to brown a bit, around 10-15 minutes.

I kept it simple and ate them on their own, but I also think they’d compliment vanilla fro yo or honey flavored yogurt well.

Nutrition facts: 105 calories, 2 g fat, 2 g protein, 22 g carbs

A quote to remember to start the week off right: “The reason people find it so hard to be happy is that they always see the past better than it was, the present worse than it is, and the future less resolved than it will be.” – Marcel Pagnol

May you make it your mission to think positively, tackle life with gusto and confidence, and laugh as much as possible this week 🙂

Post Navigation