foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 19, 2012”

Banana PB & Jelly Muffins

Late last night I decided I was in the mood for making muffins. I resisted the urge to bake right before I went to sleep, but may or may not have been deciding what kind of muffins to make and concocting a recipe while laying in bed. My requirements were that they came out yummy and moist, yet under 200 calories a piece. First thing this AM before beginning work, I whipped up these babies:

Banana PB & Jelly Muffins

Makes 12 

Ingredients:

  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c peanut butter
  • 1 c (soy) milk
  • 3 TBSP (light) butter
  • 1/4 c fruit preserves (I used raspberry)
  • 2 TBSP baking powder

Preheat the oven to 350. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with muffin cups.

In a saucepan, combine the butter, peanut butter, and sugar over medium-low heat. Heat until everything is melted, mixing together well.

Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine flours, baking powder, mashed banana and soy milk. Add the peanut butter mixture and mix everything together well.

Spoon the batter into the muffin cups until they’re halfway full. Spread 1 TSP of fruit preserves onto each muffin, then fill the cups up to the top.

Bake until lightly browned, around 20 minutes. Let the muffins cool on a wire rack before eating.

Nutrition Stats: 175 calories, 6 g fat, 5 g protein, 27 g carbs

Post Navigation