foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 29, 2012”

Kayaking & Beer

Hope everyone is having a great weekend! Yesterday I planned a day of fun for Adam’s birthday, which is coming up on Tuesday. I made up these mildly corny but funny little poems that were clues as to what activities we would be doing and what his presents were. Oh yes, I’m quite the poet! 😉

First up, I rented us a kayak in La Jolla. We paddled around near the caves there and checked out the seals, who were mostly just hanging out basking in the sun as usual. One seal was swimming around us just a few feet from our kayak, which was pretty cool.

 The birthday boy:

Though we got kind of crushed by a wave heading out, we managed to not tip over getting back to shore on the choppy waters. WOOHOO! After kayaking, we hung out on the beach, ate lunch and relaxed.

Next, we headed to a local brewery we’ve never been to called Ballast Point for a tour and beer tasting…

I’ll be honest, I really do NOT like beer. One of them was not too horrendous, but the others…. ick. I kind of wish I did, but I gave up trying to like it after years of attempting to drink it in college. But, Adam likes beer and I thought it’d be fun to go to a brewery as part of his birthday fun. And it’s a place we had never been to, and we’re all for seeing as much as we can in San Diego!

The last time I forced myself to try beer was when we were in St. Louis at the Anheuser-Busch brewery a few years ago. I thought that the tour was really interesting, but I enjoyed seeing the Clydesdales more than trying the beer…

Yes, I’m a wino all the way!

I digress.

After the brewery, we headed to Adam’s favorite Japanese joint for dinner. I forgot to snap photos of our grub, but the food was good as usual.

Following dinner, we made a stop at the mall to look for a motorcycle jacket for Adam (a birthday gift from me), though we had little luck.

As another birthday gift, I surprised Adam with tickets to a Chargers pre-season game in a few weeks. We both love football and have yet to go to a game here, so it should be a good time!

Our night ended fabulously by eating fro yo and watching the Olympics.

It was a pretty awesome day together!

Next on the agenda for my Sunday is seeing the new Batman movie. To anyone who has seen it, what did you think??

Post Navigation