foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 16, 2012”

Herbed Goat Cheese Fondue

Hope your week is off to a good start! My Monday consisted of getting work done, heading to the dog beach with Adam and Harley, and getting a workout in. After being sore all weekend from my gym session on Friday, I was happy to not feel so achy today and headed to the gym for what turned out to be a great workout. I felt fabulous afterwards. 🙂

Last Saturday, Adam and I had a laid back night hanging out at home. When coming up with a dinner idea, I thought it’d be a perfect night to indulge in something fun and new. I had ripped a recipe for goat cheese fondue out of Vegetarian Times magazine, and decided to give it a go. I made a few changes to their original recipe, such as using Fontina instead of Swiss cheese. (As big of a cheese lover as I am, I don’t enjoy Swiss at all.) I cooked using a regular saucepan since I don’t own a fondue pot, but if you have one, use it!

Note: this makes a lot of fondue! Adam and I had this as our dinners and barely made a dent in it.

Herbed Goat Cheese Fondue

Serves 6 

Ingredients:

  • 1 c lightly packed fresh parsley leaves
  • 1 c lightly packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled
  • 1 c of white wine (Chardonnay)
  • 8 oz crumbled goat cheese
  • 8 oz reduced-fat cream cheese, cubed
  • 2 TBSP cornstarch
  • 1 c soy milk (regular or other types of milk work too)
  • 1 c grated Fontina cheese

Finely chop parsley, basil and garlic. Place in a bowl and set aside.

Bring wine to a boil in a medium saucepan. Simmer until it’s reduced by half, around 5 minutes. Whisk in the goat cheese and cream cheese, and cook until melted.

In a bowl, whisk the cornstarch into the milk. Add the milk mix to the goat cheese mix, and cook about 3 minutes or until it thickens, whisking constantly.

Add in the Fontina cheese, and whisk it frequently until all the cheese has melted.

Stir in the herb mixture, then pour into a serving bowl. Eat with dippers of your choice. We had our fondue with skewers of cherry tomatoes and soft pretzel pieces, slices of red bell pepper and Triscuits.

Nutrition stats: 310 calories, 20 g fat, 12 g protein, 8 g carbs

Post Navigation