foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Archive for the day “July 31, 2012”

Baking a Giant Cookie at 7 in the Morning

That’s right, this AM before I began working, I baked a cookie the size of a pizza.

Why?

Because today is my hubby’s birthday!

I blogged about celebrating his turning 26 a few days ago, but today is Adam’s actual birthday. My, how far we’ve come since our first birthdays together…

New York City, 2007:

Since our birthdays are only 6 days apart (yep, mine is next week!), the first summer we were dating, we went skydiving together to celebrate both of ’em:

It was so much fun, I’d do it again in a heartbeat!

On the menu for tonight:

Dinner: my spaghetti squash casserole  + fresh bread

Wine: A bottle of Mark West  Pinor Noir (<– pretty cool website!), which I actually broke out our wine chiller for to set it to the ideal temp. Their wine is near and dear to our hearts – it’s what we were drinking when Adam proposed! I love it because it’s yummy and not pricey.

my favorite new wine glass

Dessert: The giant chocolate chip cookie I mentioned before (recipe found here), with light vanilla bean ice cream. Although I made a few switches to the recipe to make it not quite as sinful [light butter + less sugar + less chocolate chips + flax eggs], eating this cookie with light ice cream is like ordering a Big Mac and fries with a Diet Coke. Okay, maybe not as bad, as I made it myself and no animals were killed in the making of this dessert!

Okay, maybe I shouldn’t quit my day job… but I have a feeling it’ll taste pretty good!

Post dessert, I’ll probably roll myself onto my couch in a wine hazed sugar coma (it’s a good thing I worked out today!!) and watch the Olympics. I’ve been staying up late watching gymnastics and swimming every night since it started. On that note, I’m off to enjoy my night!

Post Navigation