foodie meets fitness

A blog following my (mostly) healthy eats, active lifestyle, and quest to be my best self

Couscous Zucchini Bake

Happy Wednesday!

Guess what finally came in the mail today?

The present I got myself after 4 months of Adam being deployed! This gets me psyched for football season to start back up…

Being that I leave the beginning of next week to spend time on the East coast with my family and girlfriends, I’m starting to get into that weird phase where I’m running out of staples in my kitchen and want to eat up all my perishable foods so I don’t have to toss them. Last night’s dinner combined some things that fall into that category – zucchini, tomato, shredded cheese, roasted pepper – with couscous to make a baked dish for 1.

Couscous Zucchini Bake

  • 1 cup of whole wheat couscous
  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1/4 c light shredded mozzarella
  • 1 TBSP grated Pecorino Romano cheese
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • 1 sweet roasted red pepper, sliced
  • 1/2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

Preheat oven to 350.

Cook couscous according to directions. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.

Cut the ends of the zucchini off, then cut it into 4 slices lengthwise.

Add garlic to the pan and let it cook for about a minute. Add zucchini and cook for a few minutes on each side, until zucchini starts to brown.

In a small baking dish, place two of the zucchini strips. Once couscous is ready, spread it on top of the zucchini slices. Add the tomato, roasted pepper, and mozzarella. Put the remaining zucchini strips on top, then sprinkle the grated cheese over the dish.

Bake until cheese is melted and the dish looks browned, around 10 minutes.

Nutrition stats: 410 calories, 18 g fat, 18 g protein, 50 g carbs

And now a picture of the sweetest creature I’ve come across today…

I spent a few hours this evening volunteering at the Humane Society, but now I’m off to walk one last dog for the day… my own! After that I’ll be relaxing for the night because I’m feeling wiped. Night!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment